Barbados Postal Service - E-Shop

Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014

Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014
Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014 Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014 Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014 Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014 Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014 Seven Wonders of Barbados 2014
Product Code: BARCOM 1401
Availability: In Stock

Price: BDS $4.55

COVE BAY

Nestled between tPico Tenerife, the towering column rock emerging from the sea and the semicircular bay with its breathtaking scenery, casuarina trees and tall swaying palms is Cove Bay. Also known as Gay's Cove, this lovely picnic spot where powerful waves pound against high cliffs is found on the wild north-east coast of Barbados in the parish of St. Lucy.

Cove Bay is a peaceful, rural setting. Although you can drive to the cliffs over looking the bay, there is no direct route to get there. The landscape surrounding Cove Bay in Barbados is diverse, with gently rolling green hills merging with forested areas, muddy tracks, and coconut tree lined avenues.

 

THE MUSIC ROCKS

The Music Rocks, also known as the Lions rocks, is a dramatic group of sea rocks which stand like sentinels against the breakers. These half dozen giant rocks stick out of the sea at Bathsheba, at the junstion where Joe's River meets the sea.

Most Barbadians and visitors to these shores are more familiar with the famous rock at Bathsheba, another local attraction. The Music Rocks are located behind the Edgewater Hotel in the parish of St. Joseph. It is said especially by the locals who live nearby that the area is known as "MUsic" and local folklore has it that if one listens carefully, the mermaids that lived there can be heard singing.

 

THE LION AT GUN HILL

The Lion at Gun Hill is a uniquely popular landmark in Barbados, founs seven hundred (700) feet above sea level on the hillside below the Gun Hill Signal Station. The British Imperial Lion is seven feet tall and stands majestically on three paws with his upraised left front paw resting on a large rea globe, which is  representative of the might of the British Empire over the world at that time in history. Underneath is a Latin inscription naming the sculptor and his four assistants, and quoting a verse from the Vulgate Latin translation of the Bible. 'Dominabitur a mari us [que] ad mare [et] a flumine us [que] ad terminus orbis terrarum' which translated from Psalm Ixxii, 8 in the King James Version reads: 'He shall have dominion (also) from sea, and from the river unto the ends of the earth.'

The white lion was carved from the coral rock of the hillside in 1868 by a British captain of the Norfolk Regiment at the Gun Hill Signal Station, Captain Henry Wilkinson, with the assistance of four military labourers. Captain Wilkinson was using the lion as a symbol for the imperial domination of the world by Great Britain, which by 1868 was at its peak. The story is told that his inspiration came from the lion depicted on a box of Lion brand matches.

 

THE DRY ROCKS

The Dry Dock or 'Screw Dock' also known as Blackwood Dock or the Screw Lifting Dock, is thought to be unique in the world. Located in Bridgetown at the upper end of the Pierhead, this World famous designated UNESCO historic site was built by engineer John Blackwood, on land leased by the Government in 1887. However, the dock was actually constructed between 1889 and 1893.

The Dry Dock had a lifting capacity of 1,200 tons, measuring 240ft in length with a 46ft beam and a 13ft shaft. It operated on steam but was later converted to electricity, and could handle vessels drawing not more than 14ft of water.

As one of the finest dry docks with excellent workmanship, this very busy port was used by several steamships trading between the United States and Brazil. Ships coming into Bridgetown Careenage had their vessels lifted out of the water for repairs and to be cleaned in the dock. The boats were turned on their sides, so the bottoms could be scraped, caulked and painted. The dock was also used by the British Admiralty during World War II, when it was employed in the dry-docking and reffitting of Allied Naval vessels as well as schooners and auxillary vessels. Additional work done was the repair and salvaging of large steam amd motor vessels in Carlisle Bay.

After changing hands many times the dock yard went into receivership in 1984 before closing in 1985. The Dry Dock which is reputed to be the only remaining facility of its kind left in the world is currently in need of repairs.

 

ST. NICHOLAS ABBEY

St. Nicholas Abbey, located in the parish of St. Peter is one of the island's oldest surviving plantations. Built in 1658 by Colonel Benjamin Berringer, it is one of three genuine Jacobean mansions in the Western Hemisphere, with two of them being in Barbados. This planatation sits on over 400 acres of rolling sugar cane fields, tropical gullies, mahogany forests and formal gardens, with the original boundaries still intact.

The mansion features elegant curvilinear gables and ornamental detail, with four cornerstone chimneys and fireplaces in two of the upstairs bedrooms. These were added in keeping with plans thought to have been brought back from England, and influenced by the Dutch architectural style which was popular at the time.

St. Nicholas Abbey is a rare and stunning example of the 17th century stykle, which is being preserved for genereations of Barbadians and visitors to experience through guided tours of the Great House, showcasing a wealth of tradition including antiques and artefacts which span the homes' three hundred and fifty 93500 year history. The boiling house, rum bond and surrounding gardens, orchards and gullies are also open to visitors. A rare 1930s film of sugar plantation life can also be viewed.

 

MORGAN LEWIS WINDMILL

Located in the parish of St. Andrew overlooking the Scotland District and the Eastern coastline of the island, the Morgan Lewis Windmill is the  last of the many Barbadian windmills once used to produce sugar. One of only two functioning sugar windmills in the world, it stopped grinding cane in 1947. Morgan Lewis Windmill is a unique, historical and architectural monuments which was listed by the World Monuments Fund as a site of global importance.

Morgan Lewis Windmill was given to the Barbados National Trust for preservation as a museum. Restoration of the mill to working order cost some eight hundred thousand dollars($800,000), and was completed in 1999. The mill which is maintained by the Barbados National Trust includes an exhibit of the equipment used to produce sugar at the time when the industry was run by windpower generated from the mills. From February to July, the Barbados National Trust re-enacts the grinding of the sugar canes at the mill. The wind powered suagr mill in one of the last of its kind and a monument to the once booming sugar industry of barbados. The conservation efforts have helped sustain the mill as a cultural tourism destination and a source of income and local pride.

 

HARRISON'S CAVE

Named after Thomas Harrison, who owned much of the land in the area in early 1700s, the first recorded history of Harrison's Cave dates back to 1796. In 1970, Danish speleologist Ole Sorenson and Anthony Mason of Barbados rediscovered Harrison's Cave, entering it through a hole in the floor of Welchman Hall Gully. Work on the development of the caves began in 1974 and the caves were made accessible to the general public from 1981.

Harrison's Cave is a beautiful example of a crystallized lime stone cavern, created over the course of hundreds of thousands of years. Without a doubt, it is one of the most spectacular natural attractions in the entire Caribbean. This national treasure is a nature based and environmentally friendly tourist attraction which continues to be very popular in Barbados.

Harrison's Cave is located near the southern end of Welchman Hall Gully in the central uplands of Barbados in the parish of St. Thomas and is administered by the National Conservation Commission.

 

Write a review

Your Name:


Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad           Good

Enter the code in the box below:



Tags: